A More Mature University Heights

I am going to start off again by saying thanks to everyone who takes the time to read whatever it is I decide to write on a daily basis. I am a writer because I write, but being a writer that no one reads wouldnt be the same as being a writer who gets told repeatedly how much my readers enjoy my blog. I find it amazing that the same people read my blog whether I am going off about my children, my nerd passions, sports, or even local government, so thank you again to everyone who reads my blog

But as most of you can guess. today is going to cover my reaction to last nights University Heights city council meeting. I will first comment on how impressed I was with new counselors Virginia Miller, and Silvia Quesada on what I found to be highly detailed, and well drafted reports and presentations about their specific committee assignments. It could be easy for  them to just go through the motions, and put in an adequate effort, but far beyond that low threshold you can see the care, the passion and the dedication not only in the prepared reports but in their demeanor, and involvement in the meeting itself.

We were given a new “concept” for the Saint Andrew’s property. And the description that we were given, stressed this point; that it is just a concept, not a plan, because it would be unproductive to continue with plans that are just going to meet roadblocks. I need not break down the concept at this point, but I will make observations on how well it was received. In a issue which we know there is no shared vision, or unified support the comments were not as contentious as one might have suspected. The hostile fight that one might have been prepared for were absent last nights meeting. My new favorite snide curmudgeon only made minor comments about the proposal, shouting out you mean TIF, and snorting and a few chuckles later on. But for the most part the comments at least feigned support.

The most amazing change between January’s meeting, and last nights was the behavior of the audience. I railed against the sophomoric behavior displayed, the snide comments, the jokes, and singing at the expense of the council. Last night much of that was absent. I sat in the same spot, and surprisingly was surrounded by the same individuals, although they were much better behaved. Whether in a matter of a month they found maturity, or whether they were put onto my blog and read what I had to say about them is immaterial, the net effect was a win for  conscientious local governance. As the meeting drug on, there was mild snickering, and quiet whispers between 2 of the audience, but in comparison to the outright derision of before this can be tolerated.

I have nothing but a positive outlook on the future of this council, and the direction in which they are approaching the issues that face our small community. I have given my support in my writing, and will continue to do so with my time, and my opinions. The future is looking bright for University Heights, and I am glad to play whatever little part that I may. It is nice to come away with a positive feeling as opposed to frustration. And this could be a great sign of things to come. But either way, I will be there, watching, taking notes, and of course writing about everything that comes to mind.

2 thoughts on “A More Mature University Heights

  1. I agree that the meeting was refreshing and productive compared to the ones in the past 6 years. The new concept of the St Andrew development should be well received by everyone since a majority of UH residents voted in favor of development in the past election. It meets the zoning requirement and provides space for the city to have a community center as the commercial building is built or at a later date. Lets proceed with the PUD approval and not hold this up for much more scrutiny….it’s already been 6 years.

  2. I agree with your observations about a more “mature University Heights.” I avoided these meetings for several years, because of the antagonism involved, but now am so impressed with the diligence and conscientiousness of the council members. Each one is doing his or her job.

Leave a comment